Necessary Documents to Apply for Car Registration
Alabama residents must present a series of important documents before they can register their vehicle in the state. First, it is important to note that you will be given a period of 20 days after the purchase of your vehicle to have it fully titled and registered. If you are new to the state, you will be provided with an extension period of 10 days to get car registration.
In terms of the standard documentation you will need to have on hand, make sure to collect the following items:
- Your Alabama drivers license
- Your original car title
- Your out of state car registration (all documentation supporting the transfer of the vehicle to Alabama must be presented to the designated agent during your DOR office visit)
- Your proof of car insurance
- Payment for vehicle fees, including titling and registration
Note: The state of AL maintains a mandatory insurance law for vehicle drivers. Car owners are required to get insurance coverage for their vehicle prior to completing registration. Proof of vehicle insurance may be presented in the form of an insurance card or an active policy that is in your name.
Necessary Car Registration Fees
Under Alabama law, both new and used vehicles must be assessed for property tax before registration can be issued or transferred. For example, your vehicle registration is subject to the following fees and taxes:
- $23 for an annual registration fee
- $15 for a title application fee
- $1.50 surcharge fee for each application
- Two percent sales tax on used vehicles
Note: Before submitting payment for all required registration-related fees, make sure that your vehicle has been fully inspected. You will be unable to proceed with applying for car registration if you have not fulfilled this requirement. For more information, contact your nearby Alabama Department of Revenue location.